Similar to an uninsured motorist claim, if the parties responsible for your accident do not have ENOUGH liability insurance to compensate you for the full value of your case, you can make a claim for SUM benefits with the insurance carrier for the car you are in when the accident occurs. Learn more about Supplemental Underinsurance Protection.
In New York, all cars are required to have at a minimum the following insurance: $25,000/$50,000 for liability, $10,000 for property damage, $25,000/$50,000 for UM coverage and $50,000 for No-Fault coverage. Learn more about minimum insurance limits.
New York is a comparative negligence state. This means that liability is based upon percentage of fault. For example, if you are a passenger in a car that has an accident with another vehicle, and it is determined that each car is 50% at fault, then each respective insurance company will generally pay for 50% of the value of your case. Learn more about car accident liability.
Every car in New York is required to have at a minimum 25/50 in uninsured motorist protection. This means, if you are involved in a hit and run accident or if the vehicle that caused your accident does not have any insurance, you can make an uninsured motorist claim (your claim for pain and suffering) with the insurance carrier for the car that you are in when the accident occurs. Learn more about uninsured motorist protection.
Learn about why this information is needed.
For an automobile accident, the No-Fault carrier (see above) will pay you 80% of your actual incurred lost wages, with a maximum of $2,000 a month (unless you have an APIL or OBEL policy, which is like extra No Fault coverage). Read more about lost wage recovery in New York.
New York is a No-Fault state, which means that everyone involved in motor vehicle accident in New York (with the…
Every car in New York is required to be insured for at least $10,000 in property damage insurance. If you have comprehensive insurance including coverage for your own property damage, then you can put the claim into your own insurance company. Learn more about claim submission for property damage.
It is very difficult for an attorney to give you an reliable estimate of the value of your case soon after the accident. Typically, we need more information to give you a true value of your case. Read about these factors.
This all depends on what type of claim you have. For basic negligence cases (accident cases against private entities), the statute of limitations is 3 years. For cases against the City of New York and other public municipalities, the statute of limitations is generally 1 year and 90 days. However, there are other deadlines that you must be aware of.